6 still in limbo as Plateau speaker inaugurates another APC lawmaker-elect

6 still in limbo as Plateau speaker inaugurates another APC lawmaker-elect

The Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Gabriel Dewan, has inaugurated Daniel Nanlong, one of the seven remaining All Progressive Congress (APC) lawmakers-elect, three months after the initial nine out of 16 were sworn in.

Nanlong, representing the Mikang constituency, who was inaugurated during the assembly plenary, is among the 16 APC lawmakers who won their cases at the Appeal Court but were not initially sworn in.

On April 5, nine of these lawmakers were inaugurated after allegedly signing undated resignation letters. The remaining seven lawmakers-elect claimed they were not sworn in because they refused to sign these letters and sought President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s intervention in the matter.

While the details of why only Nanlong was inaugurated on Tuesday remain unclear, he expressed gratitude to the speaker for the opportunity to represent his constituents. Nanlong promised to collaborate with his colleagues for the betterment of the legislative arm.

Prior to his inauguration, Nanlong had vowed not to sign the resignation letter, deeming it undemocratic.

Efforts to ascertain the conditions under which Nanlong was sworn in were unsuccessful, as neither he nor the speaker responded to inquiries from our correspondent.

The remaining six lawmakers-elect awaiting their inauguration are: Rt. Hon. Yakubu Sanda, Pengana Constituency; Professor Theodore Maiyaki, Qua’an Pan South Constituency; Owen Doggogot, Qua’an Pan North Constituency; Isaac Dalyop, Jos South Constituency; Moses Dalyop, Riyom Constituency; and John Mark, Jos North-West Constituency.


Source link: Daily Trust/